Here are all the 17 African countries on the UK’s ‘red list’

According to the ban travellers from the stated countries are expected to quarantine for 10 days in government-approved hotels. They will also have to pay for the bill during their stay. The bill will not be less than $100 per night.

This is an increase in the number of banned African countries from 11 to 17. This is a measure to curb the spread of the new Covid-19 variant.

The UK has indicated that from February 15 the restriction on travellers from countries they see as red zones will begin.

The countries are 33 in all with 17 of them being African nations. Travellers from such countries will have to pay some €2,000 ($2781) to self-isolate for 10 days in a pre-booked hotel room.

If one flouts the rule, one could pay a fine of up to €11,500 ($15,995) or will be jailed for 10 years.

Meanwhile, just as all other travelers, one must have a negative test result which was performed 72 hours before arrival. They must also be tested on the second and eighth days of the quarantine.

Find below the 17 Africa countries included in the red zone include:

• Angola

• Botswana

• Burundi

• Cape Verde


• Eswatini

• Lesotho

• Malawi

• Mauritius

• Mozambique

• Namibia

• Rwanda

• Seychelles

• South Africa

• Tanzania

• Zambia

More Updates...

About The Author

Got Something To Say:

Your email address will not be published.


Email Updates.

User Login
Existing User Login
New user registration
 Forgot Password
Forgot Your Password Get It Back Now
Advertise with us
We are fidelity
Terms & Conditions
Terms of service
Contact Naijatweet team