In News by Oluwaseun Samuel on the 13th, October, 2020

Names Of Eight New Supreme Court docket Justices Confirmed By Senate

Names Of Eight New Supreme Court Justices Confirmed By Senate




A listing of eight Supreme Court docket justices despatched to the Senate by President Muhammadu Buhari have been confirmed.


The Senate on Tuesday accepted and confirmed the appointments.


President Muhammadu Buhari had by means of a letter learn by the President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, penultimate week, requested the Senate to approve the appointment of the eight justices.


Buhari had mentioned the appointments have been primarily based on the suggestions of the Nationwide Judicial Council.


Buhari had additionally mentioned his motion was “in pursuant to Part 231 (2) of the 1999 Structure as amended and upon the recommendation of the Nationwide Judicial Council based on their rating and seniority within the Court docket of Enchantment.”


The nominees are, Lawal Garba, (North West), Helen Ogunwumiju (South West), Abdu Aboki (North West), and M M Saulawa (North West).


Others are, Adamu Jauro (North East), Samuel Oseji (South South), Tijani Abubakar (North East), and Emmanuel Agim (South South).


The Chairman of the Senate Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Authorized Issues, Senator Opeyemi Bamidele, introduced the report of his panel’s screening train for senators’ consideration on Tuesday.


He mentioned his committee discovered that every one the judges are eminently certified for the exalted positions and that there was no petition towards any of them.


The Senate subsequently confirmed their appointment at plenary.


Got Something To Say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



©Copyright - 2016-2020.

%d bloggers like this:
Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Twitter

Fill the forms to signup